World Championship

For Immediate Release
Contact:  Jan Harley, Media Pro Int’l, 401-849-0220


 Farr 30 Class Heads to Hyères For World Championship

SANTA BARBARA, CALIF. (September 19, 2010) – Renowned in sailing circles for its annual Olympic Sailing Week, Hyères, France, is also popular among grand prix classes who revel in the outstanding sailing conditions found on the Bay of Toulon.  In just five weeks time, competitors in the Farr 30 class will experience the famous conditions firsthand when they compete for the Farr 30 World Championship title from October 23-31, 2010.  Organized by the class and C.O.Y.C.H., the Pre-Worlds will take place October 25-26, with racing for the world title taking place October 28-31.  To date, teams from France, Germany Sweden, The Netherlands and the U.S.A. have entered. 

“Hyères is a beautiful place to sail where the wind gods are usually smiling.  In October you can either have a Mistral or a very strong easterly bringing big seas with it,” said Deneen Demourkas (Santa Barbara, Calif.), the Farr 30 International Class President.  “I am really looking forward to this world championship and the extremely talented field of competitors racing in the Farr 30.  C.O.Y.C.H. have an excellent reputation for putting on top notch events, the bay can be a very challenging place to sail and it will most certainly be a test worthy of a world champion title.”

In addition to Demourkas, who will race Groovederci, Erik Maris (Paris, France) will sail Twins in a bid to become the first skipper to repeat as Farr 30 world champion.  In 12 editions, only Alina has been victorious at the world championship more than once – in 2001 and 2002 – although with different skippers (respectively, Maurizio Abba/Luca Valerio, and Guiseppe Abba).  With a world championship not held in 2009 due to a fire at the host club,Guy Stening (AUS) stands as the reigning world champion after winning the 2008 event aboard Optimum when it was contested in Newport, R.I.

The Notice of Race for the 2010 Farr 30 World Championship, and additional event details can be found online at:    Entries close on October 10, 2010.

Print Email